Local 1928 received notice on Friday July 17 that Business Manager Jeff Richardson will be leaving to take a position that will allow him to spend more time with his family. Brother Richardson's last day with Local 1928 will be August 6. At a specially called meeting that day, the Local's executive board appointed Brother Leo Doran as Business Manager/Financial Secretary, effective Brother Richardson's departure. Brother Doran is an industrial electrican who is the elected Chair of Unit 5 and comes out of the Nova Scotia Power bargaining unit to take on the role. 

Nova Scotia Power's Wreck Cove generating station in Cape Breton received some nice attention in the Chronicle Herald today, both for what was accomplished when it was constructed between 1975 and 1978 and for the 13.5 million to be spent on upgrades to its dam and control equipment. Read the article and see the photos here.

Results are in on the voting on the Tentative Agreement reached between the negotiating teams of Local 1928 and NSP on June 10, 2015. The result is:

"For" the Tentative Agreement: 349
"Against" the Tentative Agreement: 208 

Percentage in Favour of Tentative Agreement: 62.66%
Percentage Against Tentative Agreement: 37.34 %

Voter Participation:  61.3% of eligible voters participated (total number of people who voted: 557 out of 908 eligible)

Voting on the tentative agreement reached between Local 1928 and NSP on June 10, 2015, ends tomorrow, Tuesday, at 12pm. If you are having any difficulty with the voting process, please contact the union hall. 

Please exercise your right to voteā€”it only takes a minute..

The names of two (from sixteen applicants) IBEW family members were drawn at random by International Representative Brian Matheson at the Local's executive board meeting on June 25. The winners receive $1,500 each toward their post-secondary studies for the coming school year. Congratulations to Courteney Waye (daughter of Mike Waye) and Rebecca Corkum (daughter of Rod Corkum) and best of luck with your studies! Thank you to all our members for your interest and support of the Local 1928 scholarship.



Suite 204
14 McQuade Lake Crescent
Bayers Lake Industrial Park
Halifax NS B3S 1B6

P: 1 800 450 5366
F: 902 450 5080